Dr Bibek Debroy is dropped in recast NITI Aayog

 -  -  4

New Delhi: Noted economist Dr Bibek Debroy has been dropped from the NITI Aayog as its full-time member. The plan panel has been reconstituted with Prime Minister Modi as its chairman. Dr Debroi worked with Rajiv Gandhi Institute for Contemporary Studies from 1997 to 2005. He was sacked from the post after he praised the Gujarat Government under then CM Modi in a publication of the institute.

An author of several books and consulting editor of many newspapers, Debroy then worked for a year with PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry and remained with the Centre for Policy Research from 2007 to 2015 until Modi picked him for the NITI Aayog job. Dr Rajiv Kumar will continue as its vice-chairman; the three other full-time members, namely V K Saraswat, Prof. Ramesh Chand and Dr V K Paul, have been retained. The Aayog’s four ex-officio members are union ministers Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar, in that order. Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Piyush Goyal and Rao Inderjit Singh are the special invitees.

via FPJ

4 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
0 notes
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *